posted on Thursday, January 2, 2014 in Blog


Through January 15, 2014, property owners can apply for a property tax credit on industrial, commercial and railroad classed parcels.

One credit is available for each qualified property unit. A property unit consists of contiguous parcels of the same classification that are owned by the same person and operated by that person for a common use and purpose.

A property owner need only fill out the application once as it will be applicable in subsequent years. If a property owner misses the January 15, 2014 deadline they can apply in subsequent years.

Application must be filed with the city or county assessor where the property is located. Copies are available at your County Courthouses and online here.

The links above takes you to an online form and information provided by the Black Hawk County Assessor Tami McFarland. The contact information for assessors in other Cedar Valley counties is provided below. Simply change the name of the county in “Jurisdiction.”

Benton County Assessor
111 East 4th St, 2nd Floor
Vinton, Iowa 52349

Black Hawk County Assessor
Room 209
316 East 5th Street
Waterloo, Iowa 50703

Bremer County Assessor
415 E. Bremer Avenue
Waverly, IA 50677

Buchanan County Assessor
P.O. Box 388
Independence, IA 50644-0388

Chickasaw County Assessor
8 East Prospect
New Hampton, IA 50659

Grundy County Assessor
706 G Avenue
Grundy Center IA 50638

Tama County Assessor
104 W. State Street, P.O. Box 91
Toledo, IA 52342

The Greater Cedar Valley Alliance & Chamber was part of an effective coalition that included the Iowa Chamber Alliance, Iowa Association of Business & Industry (ABI), Professional Developers of Iowa (PDI), and Iowa Taxpayers Association to achieve property tax reduction for all commercial and industrial property owners.